Organising your music for new ipods, itunes users

Client Eastwood

To cut a long story sort I’m moving to ipod/itunes, I’ve never used either before and need a bit of advice. All my music is on an external drive (1) which I back up to another external drive (2). I use a file structure and I just copy stuff to and fro to a small Sansa listening while on the move.

I’m quite happy with the above but now have an ipod with enough capacity to hold all my music. Ill just leave the ipod plugged into the hi-fi so I don’t need to listen through the PC/external drive. But I got some newbie questions.

Can I use itunes with a file structure ?

Can itunes be used with my external drive (1) as I don’t want to copy all the tunes onto my PC.
What if I plug in another drive external drive(2) or my Sansa which my PC sees as an external drive. Will itunes freak out ?

Most all my music is ripped from my own CDs so album, artist and song title etc is tagged using Exact Audio Copy but don’t have album art, how can I get this without retagging the whole lot ?

I thought about just retagging the whole lot with mp3tag as it would download the album art for me. I tried it on a handful of mp3s and it did the tagging bit ok but started to rename the actual file name and losing the track sequence number. Eg filename ‘01 artist – song title’ became ‘artist song title’. Maybe I just did it wrong . . .

nomos

Administrator
Let's see here...

Can I use itunes with a file structure ?
Go to iTunes Preferences > Advanced. To keep your own file structure, uncheck 'Keep iTunes folder organized.' To prevent iTunes from duplicating all of you files into its own folder, uncheck 'Copy files to iTunes media folder when adding to library.' Now you can import all of your music into the iTunes database (just drag and drop the music folders into the left column, under 'Library') without duplicating or disrupting your existing file structure.