Kung-Fu Films.

luka

I'm not an expert in these. i started watching them because I was into Wu-Tang. I've watched a few, maybe 20, maybe 30. i've usually been a bit mangled when i've been watching them. i never remember much. they've all got the same plot anyway. someone does someone a wrong so they train in kung-fu for a few years then get their revenge. might get a little love interest along the way. I like them. I can't remember the name of the best one i've ever seen. it was good though. do you like them? where do you get yours from? ever been down that star video rentals in south-east london? might be on the walworth rd. go to any of the ones on that NFT series? some of them were pretty good. Got any favourite stars?

O

Omaar

The 36th chamber of shaolin (1978) played here last year, it was pretty good, starred Chia Hui Liu who was in Kill Billl 2. There was also a screening of come drink with me, an early wu xia film from 1966. This had some nice wirework in it, and some pretty cool fx.

Diaz

Duel to the Death is pretty wicked stuff (in the wuxia style, which is like old school chinese opera and dungeons and dragons mixed together and is nigh the best thing ever); greatest swordsman of china and greatest swordsman of japan are brought together to fight a centennial ritual fight, with monks and ninjas (ninjas on kites!) backing them up and providing scenery.

wu-tang themselves have presented a couple of releases (at least here in america) that are pretty entertaining, including one where children form human pyramids and defend themselves from jerkface bandits.

oh plus mad props to Big Trouble in Little China for being america's best entry into the field.

"makes you see things no one else can see, do things no one else can do"

as far as straight-up kung-fu flicks goes, i don't know half as much.

cortempond

Find any King Hu stuff, if you can