PDA

View Full Version : Anyone running 3D Studio Max? I need a file converted to FBX.



Woebot
31-10-2014, 09:40 PM
Bit of a strange 'un I know!

Woebot
31-10-2014, 10:03 PM
in fact if you have a PC and can get the trial running (i can't seem to get it to install)

http://www.autodesk.co.uk/products/3ds-max/free-trial#

that would be the next best thing. from there i think you can export to FBX easily

i would really appreciate it :-)

alec.tron
02-11-2014, 12:29 AM
Heya Woebot.
From what format do you need to convert into fbx ?
There's usually dedicated converters for most formats available these days.
eg.
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/pc/item?siteID=123112&id=22694909
The trial packages usually have saving/converting disabled tho, so I doubt the 3ds max trial above will do what you need it to.

c.

Woebot
02-11-2014, 08:04 AM
hi alec.tron - thanks for getting back to me dude

yeah - i'm on maya too :cool:

i eventually got the 3D Max installer to work and they have this file bridge between the two apps. this i guess is a presage to them eventually bundling max/maya/soft into one app. i've got 30 days with the max trial - so fingers crossed.

thanks again.

alec.tron
02-11-2014, 08:24 AM
No worries man!
Sorry I could only be of limited help anyway... last I used max was on some game animation jobs in 2003 :p
Work does have Max available I think, but data politics there are extreme for a few reasons and getting data out is a big no no, so can't offer to convert it there either unfortunately.
As you said though, Autodesk is working on better cross platform data management, although that shit's always been painful... if you can't get it going get in touch and I ask around who still owns a recent 3ds max.
Chur.
c.