The Residents

jenks

thread death
As is obvious from my posts on the RUIU&SA threads i have no real listening experience of this band. i have read reams on them in all the right places but haven't followed it up with actually going out and buying some stuff. This is to do with:the sheer quantity of releases; the difficulty in finding them and the prices of cds when they are finally found.
so, what would you recommend, bearing in mind i want something that i willl listen to more than once (i.e. not something whose concept is great but not really very listenable, we've all got some of those haven't we?), something that i can find in the u.k. and something that i don't have to break the bank for. not much to ask for :p

SMorlighem

Oh lucky boy !

I'd say EVERYTHING 1974-82.

Really.

Just say 5 :
- Meet The Residents
- Duck Stab/Buster & Glen
- Eskimo
- Commercial Album
- Mark of the Mole

and if you're stuck, all others !

Jim Daze

I was listening to 'Meet The Residents' yesterday, I really like the idea of the Residents, and Eskimo as far as I remember is a really great 'ambient' record but beyond this I dont get it, although there are some fine musical moments on the first album I mentioned the rest is kind of dated and not all that. They are so highly revered it seems but I defy you to sit through the dvd of their videos which are supremely dull and unfunny. Oh yeah 'Third Reich and Roll' has a great cover.
Maybe it's a case of when something becomes too cryptic people are afraid to critisize it because they reveal that they dont get it, when in actual fact there is nothing to get. ;)

MiltonParker

the early videos are great. I recommend the 'Video Voodoo' compilation. Which is contained in its entirety on the 'Icky Flix' DVD, but broken up by really terrible recent films, and with the added distraction of a 2nd soundtrack of inferior recent re-recordings of the early songs.