Is Cycling in the City really good for you?

Woebot

There's lots of promotional guff about how cycling in cities is good for you, good for the environment, how cyclists live longer etc...

But really I've been cycling in London since 1989 and I reckon, that on balance it's worse for your health than it is a positive influence.

The fulcrum to this is the fact that cyclists breathe far more air because they're exercising. You may theoretically be exposed to more pollution in a car (and I still dont believe this!) but you're not breathing half as much.

Furthermore a car's ventilation system may expose you to toxic gases, but in the main it MUST filter out airborne particles pretty effectively. That dust can't stay airborne in the car's more static filtration system.

Some people believe the answer is to wear a protective mask, but the design on these is REALLY APPALING. They're sweaty, uncomfortable and they hinder breathing, which if you're borderline asthmatic (er, like pretty much everyone who opts to use one!!!!) is the killer blow to their practicality. Actually I've thought up a way their design could be improved immeasurably, but that's all top secret bizniss.

As i say, there's loads of shite spewed online about the positive effects on health of cycling in the city (more often than not sponsored by well-meaning government sponsored quangos) but here's something a little more open-minded I discovered, though I disagree with the bloke's conclusion.

Cycling in London makes me sick!