Tori vs the Dolls

minikomi

pu1.pu2.wav.noi
Bizzare to say the least... i wondered what the hell was going on!

Tori Alamaze: Lost In Translation
By Clover Hope

AllHipHop.com Alternatives: Before we get into your story, can you give some background on your history in the music industry?

Tori Alamaze: I used to be a makeup artist for about 10 years. I’ve worked with everyone from Faith to Erykah [Badu], TLC, Xscape, Monica, Outkast, Busta [Rhymes]. Most recently, I made the transition from makeup into singing when I started going on tour with Outkast on “Hey Ya” in 2003-2004.

AHHA: So basically your music career just started around two years?

Tori: I would say I’ve been kind of behind the scenes quietly creating and dreaming and wanting to do music. However, I was still involved in the industry. [With] traveling and the clients, of course, comes A&R and labels and all that type of stuff. So I was still in it, but I wasn’t necessarily considered a recording artist. In the last three years, I’ve been more vocal, and it’s been more out there.

AHHA: Right. So what do you want people to know about the situation with this song, “Don’t Cha”?

Tori: It’s just interesting at the moment because I am in transition, and of course this was all unexpected. This wasn’t included in what we initially started, so of course we have to shift everything that we have been doing and just come up with a whole ‘nother plan. Basically, I’ve been seeing on the Internet and just hearing what people say, but they have no idea. Consumers just come up with their own conclusion, which is the only thing that kind of prompted me to get it out. I don’t want to focus on it because I’m so focused on moving forward, but I just gotta speak because I hear all kinds of stuff—that the Pussycat Dolls are cuter, that’s why the label did it, or just all kinds of assumptions out there, but it’s dead wrong.

AHHA: Okay, what is your explanation?