Movies from stills

domtyler

Teasmaid
Recent posts about Patrick keiller and Chris Marker http://www.dissensus.com/showthread.php?t=2376, have made me think about films made from still images.

As a photographer I've often wondered how far the idea could be taken and when, recently, I was asked to make some sequences of images for a concert performance, I had an opportunity to explore the possibilities. I watched Marker's "La Jetee" very early on in the project (which is still ongoing) and felt that despite the obvious virtuosity of the direction the quality of the actual frames lets the narrative down. It seems like the film is mostly regarded as at best an oddity and at worst as a warning to other filmakers not to try the same thing, interesting but flawed.

"London" and "Robinson in Space" (both of which I've known and loved for years) seem more visually successful to me but I'm not sure if it's just because the frames are more like moving tableaux.

Does anyone know of other still films?

After this project, where the sequences are semi-cinematic slideshows,my eventual hope is to construct a documentary film using my photographs and recorded interviews and ambient sounds. A bit like work by Ken Burns but with the photography shot for the film rather than sourced from archives.

Last edited:

h-crimm

the opening sequence of husbands by casavettes is a set of stills combined with his usual over amped noisy background sound. all but one of the wives and one of the titular husbands only appear in this segment.
the sequence only lasts a few minutes tho...

there's also the semi stationary tableaux set up in la ricotta by pasoilini (part of rogopago), they arent actually the film but the self-serious fake film which the actual short film is (sortof) about the making of... if you see what i mean
i think godard may have tried to actually make this film using nearly stationary live action tableaux in the 80s... is it called passion?