What do you do for a quid?

Buick6

too punk to drunk
I notice a few people here mention how they often go on trans-global flights or are English speaking and based in exoitc locales/ So I'm curious to know what some of you do for a quid to afford such mobility. Me? I'm am the IT equivalent of a plumber. Unfortunately, no woprk sponsored trip to Japan, New York, Berlin.

blunt

shot by both sides
Me, I'm a Flash designer/developer for an agency in London. So no jetset lifestyling for me, neither.

Nice thread. Intrigued to see how many people declare themselves, and how many prefer the relative anonymity of their handle ;)

jenks

thread death
as i have mentioned before - i am a teacher

i pay for my flights! let's not mention the holidays or dissensians dreadful memories of school. and no i don't have leather patches or a knitted tie

nomos

Administrator
phd student living on a teaching assistanceship, research jobs and scholarships. i spend my 'vacations' working and don't have a lot of extra $ for travel. i did make it over to london this past summer but a fun trip for us usually consists of a train ride to toronto or a day in montreal. big up the ISIC card.

Eric

Mr Moraigero
research. I sometimes get funded travel for conference presentations etc ... last year I got to Barcelona, Berlin, Paris, several places in Japan, Philly, etc for talks. it's a good deal.

john eden

male pale and stale
I am a charity bureaucrat. I get to go to Portsmouth tomorrow. Wooo.

In 1999, after saving up for 2 years, I went to South America for 3 months (Brazil/Bolivia/Peru).

Last year my partner worked her arse off with a corporate rather than charity client and I did some overtime. That financed our trip to Uganda.

tox

Factory Girl
Student scum here I'm afraid.

Its a good life and I'm studying japanese so at least I'm not wasting my time on a mickey mouse degree. No idea what to do afterwards though.

Melchior

Taking History Too Far