Grime Peeps - Fruity Loop

S-K

i bin mcing for a while now but Im looking to start useing fruity loops to make beatz, but im completely new to making music and im not quite sure what to buy and what would be good to start with, can anyone give me any advice on programs, software all dat stuff???

S-K

bassnation

the abyss
S-K said:
i bin mcing for a while now but Im looking to start useing fruity loops to make beatz, but im completely new to making music and im not quite sure what to buy and what would be good to start with, can anyone give me any advice on programs, software all dat stuff???

S-K

fruity loops is massively popular and a lot of people swear by it - but my advice is to find a program you feel comfortable with and go with that. not sure how much you know, but a sequencer is a computer program where you can lay out the pieces and construct songs.

there are quite a few available includingcubase, fruity loops, cakewalk or a bunch of others. my favourite is ableton live - a program a lot of people use for djing but it can be used as a fully fledged sequencer. i'd recommend it for beginners because its not overly technical and its easy to develop ideas quickly.

moving beyond sequencers, you get soft synths (which can be used with any sequencer) called VSTi (virtual studio technology instruments). you get vsts for everything, pads / stabs, drumkits etc - even found a vst that emulates a reggae siren the other day. you can also get vst plugins for reverb, delay, chorus and a million other fx - again these will work with practically any sequencer.

the vsts i like are albino (great for pads and bass), minimoog (wicked bass and fx) and the korg classic vst (which has the fattest subbass i've ever heard). i hear native instruments battery is very good for percussion but haven't tried it myself. these things range in price, typically 100 quid for each. however, theres loads of free vsts on the net, try this place for some ideas:
http://www.rocketloop.com/