niceness is golden, or why poseurs are shit

zhao

there are no accidents
of all the people I have met in my life, the ones who have had the most success/recognition in their fields, artists, film makers, theorists, writers, musicians, etc, the ones who are famous and sometimes considered to be legends, have been the nicest, humblist, and agreeable characters imaginable - with not a trace of ego in their demeanors.

when I walked up to Tim Hawkinson at his first retrospective (have since gone on to have retrospectives at MOMA NY, LACMA LA, and who produces some of the most amazing work today), and told him how much I love his work, he looked at me and asked "what do YOU do?" and for the next 15 minutes all he was concerned with was what kind of paintings do I make and what kind of design do I do for a living, etc. here was a major young artist on his way up and he was very interested in some random person that walked up to him - and not in himself at all.

I can give many other examples of good friends and people I've met who are like this - accomplished individuals who are genuinely fascinated by art and ideas and life and people, and possess not an ounce of pretension, have no prejudices, make no judgements, and do not subscribe to bullshit ellitist ideas about exclusivity or stupid distinctions between high and low.

and it is the miserable losers who pretend to be what they are not, the ones who are very much unhappy with themselves and their lives, the fake-ass poseurs of the world, it is these who act in demeaning, ugly ways; who are mean-spirited and use any chance to put other people down to make themselves feel better.

N A P H T A

Junglist
Well said!

As a mere casual observer of recent shennanigans in this place (and as a mate of Droid) I shall refrain from throwing my 6pence into the wider issues that this seems to relate to...