4x4 questions

ChineseArithmetic

It is what it is
First question - am I correct in thinking that it's "four to four" rather than "four by four", or any other way that you might say it?

Second question - where can I hear it? Any mixes or live streams on-line, or maybe a comp/mix I could seek out on torrents.

Any info appreciated.

petergunn

plywood violin
BrokenFist said:
Isn't 4x4 just a generic term for dance music that's structured around a 4/4 beat?

i am no expert on this AT ALL (i got into this shit backwards thru grime), but he's referring to a type of garage... alot of grime 12"s will have the regular grime mix on one side and a "4x4" remix on the other, which, yeah, has the house music style 4/4 kickdrums on every beat. it's a little slicker than most stuff i listen to, but it's really grown on me, especially the stuff D'explicit is doing right now...

gabriel

The Heatwave
wow, my first edit of wikipedia... i can't believe people had allowed "4x4 Garage is a variety of UK garage with a 4/4 time signature" up there as a distinguishing factor for 4x4 garage - what time signature to people think 2 step is in?!

wonk_vitesse

radio eros
presumably there's different definitions but 4 x 4 normally means bangin tekno or house i.e. not garage or breaks. Whether it be dodgy trance or pulverising acid tekno 4 x 4 is what alot of closed minded people can only dance to :D

ChineseArithmetic

It is what it is
gabriel said:
wow, my first edit of wikipedia... i can't believe people had allowed "4x4 Garage is a variety of UK garage with a 4/4 time signature" up there as a distinguishing factor for 4x4 garage - what time signature to people think 2 step is in?!

Isn't that definition correct, tho? 2 step isn't in 4/4 is it? Isn't that why it's called 2 step? And 4x4, as I understand it, is a new derivation of garage, rather than just 4/4 house or techno of old.

petergunn

plywood violin
ChineseArithmetic said: