Surrealism in Music

satanmcnugget

I've been trying to find examples of musicians who themselves are Surrealist or use Surrealist techniques in their music (Trish Keenan of Broadcast, for example, uses automatic writing (seemingly) several times on her last album Tender Buttons). I'm a bit new at this, so if you could help/indulge me, especially since I've posted this topic before noon, it would be greatly appreciated. ^_^

labrat

hot on the heels of love
you won't find much "proper" surrealist music as the somewhat draconian Andre Breton notoriously hated music.
However Nurse with Wound is probably the best call -they even titles their 1st album after a quote from Comte de Lautréamont (one of surrealisms biggest influences)

martin

----
Robert Ashley's "Automatic Writing" is OK, but my favourite surrealist music work ever is John Cage / Kenneth Patchen's "The City Wears A Slouch Hat"

john eden

male pale and stale
Coil - Scatology

heavily influenced by surrealists like Dali, Ernst, etc. Can't remember much about techniques but they were into scrying, using dream imagery, etc.

Octopus?

There's a piece by Boulez called "explosante-fixe" inspired by Breton's writings. Other than the entire excellent NWW oeuvre (as mentioned above) it's tough to find a lot of directly surrealist inspired music.

Ben Sisario's book on The Pixies' Doolittle (in the 33 1/3 series) discusses almost exclusively the influence of Surrealism, Bunuel, and, most recently, Lynch- on Frank Black.

Last edited:

tate

Brown Sugar
Ben Sisario's book on The Pixies' Doolittle (in the 33 1/3 series) discusses almost exclusively the influence of Surrealism, Bunuel, and, most recently, Lynch- on Frank Black.
Good call. I remember, when Doolittle was released, realizing that the shouted lyric at the end of "debaser" was a reference to the Bunuel film short, Un chien andalou, and thinking, wow.