Thomas Hardy

jenks

thread death
Inspired by the great reviews for the new Tomalin biography i thought I'd give him another go. ( I also though i'd be fool hardy enough to try and discuss books here again)

As a student I never managed to finish any of hi s famous novels and only really started to consider him worthy of any ind of reputation when i started to read the poetry.

then i read Return of the Native which i really enjoyed

I am currently reading Under The Greenwood Tree which probably has enough wierd folk elements to please most dissensians.

I'm wondering if he is a writer who has much to recommend him - master of two genres - a proper understanding of nature - self educated etc

However he can be overly ornate, almost nihlistic in his world view, over reliant on coincidence, etc.

Any thoughts...

Lichen

, over reliant on coincidence, etc.

Any thoughts...

I started Mayor of Castebridge the other day but failed to finish. I've just finished and greatly enjoyed Silas Marner, so I've got a taste for hard-bitten rural stuff which I could put to work on The Mayor...

Silas Marner's plot hinges on coincidence as does the early plot of Castebridge. Why is that an issue? Is it considered lazy?

BTW Jenks, didn't you suggest that I follow American Pastoral with I married a communist?

Well I did and was ground down by it, just as everyone surrounding Ira is ground dy by him.

I love his writing both poetry and the novels...did my dissertation on him.
Certainly Mayor of Casterbridge has coincidence but that criticism (if it is a criticism) can't
be laid at the door of most of his novels unlike some of,for example,Charles Dickens'
stuff which I find can make the whole novel ridiculous.