Surprising incidental music on crap telly

straight

wings cru
just a silly one for friday, anyone heard any surprisingly awesome/weird/apt music in gutter tv programming lately? Ive heard some wonderful stuff in bbc4 docs recently, particularly the genius/science/madness series they had on earlier in the year with some wonderful original max de wardener pieces but i want to hear about esoteric music finding its way into telly of negligible intellect. I heard steve reichs msuic for 18 musicians used heavity in a recent wife swap so it led me to thinking that if i was a researcher etc on on some horrorible reality telly (as a few friends of mine are part of their attempted journey to TV stardom) it would be of great pleasure to sneak something interesting into the mix.

Last edited:

zhao

there are no accidents
i saw an episode of this show called dubplate drama on myspace which had some dodgy bass-heavy beats type thing or other on it...

lamp post

Wild Horses
Skins series one had all kinds of amazing stuff that you wouldn't normally expect in a teen drama;
Wolf Eyes, Broadcast, Grizzly Bear, A Hawk and A Hacksaw, Skream, Clogs, Magnetic Fields, Summer Night Air, The Fall...

in eastenders the other day when steven (the weirdo one) is running a market stall called "urban alternative" he puts on Mainstream Money by Tinchy Stryder for about 3 seconds.

straight

wings cru
been waitin for the big enders/grime crossoevr, my skins been crawling in anticipation. thought it was finally goin to happen a couple of months ago when dino was trying get peggy to put on a grime night on in the vic but to no avail.

mos dan

fact music
i think skins is a larf too fwiw.

maybe this isn't in the spirit of the thread, but it seems a good moment to share it..