What hosting?

Gabba Flamenco Crossover

High Sierra Skullfuck
Dissensians with on-line activities... who does your hosting, and are they any good? I'm a complete beginner on the net and I don't need huge bandwidth, just want a place to hold my trax, mixes and such.

Cheers.

secretagentgel

what country are you in? being the internet means it shouldnt matter, but since it's like the majority of yr visitors will be from yr country, it's often preferable to pick something domestic. faster responses.

Grievous Angel

Beast of Burden
I like dreamhost. Loadsa space and bandwith. John Eden and Nomos are with them too.

For UK hosts, maybe check the PCPro awards which have just come out, there's a few recommendations there.

lowest form

Wild Horses
I've used 123 Reg before and whilst the hosting was fine - the support was pretty awful. Plus they can't receive emails from hotmail, meaning any questions went unanswered for months.

I currently use a friend's server, which is great because I pretty much have unlimited space (I think there's about 7.5 hours worth of music on my site) but don't get no stats, so I can't indulge my ego by seeing how many people have visited/downloaded/etc.

tryptych

waiting for a time
I use Dreamhost too, for work - they've always been very quick to respond to questions/complaints, and loads of space and bandwidth for not very much money.

Also think that they're a worker owned co-operative, and as Wikipedia notes they are "unusually transparent about their business practices" if that kind of thing appeals...

blubeat

blubeat