soundproofing

hmm - posted this on another site but im not sure its going to get any reply - i know you guys are pretty on it regarding music, but does anybody know anything about acoustics/sound attenuation - which materials to use etc....

spiel below]

ive been looking around a bit into room acoustics and soundproofing as im an architecture student currently designing a music academy. the site is by a busy road and the building facade (the one facing the road - which will deal with the traffic noise) is currently projected to be responsive - that is, the facade alters according to the ambient acoustic environment as well as the internal sound generated. thats the fun part - the difficult bit is trying to get this to work.

so far - i've been thinking along the lines of an inflatable/expandable cell with some sort of translucent/clear sound barrier on either side. the facade would be a sandwich of MLV > Expandable Air Cavity> MLV again on the other side.

my question is whether this idea is a) completely ridiculous in terms of its effectiveness at absorbing traffic noise (i know low frequency rumble is a problem) but also whether increasing the air cavity by inflating the cell has any impact on sound proofing - ie. does a bigger air cavity equal a reduction in sound transmission?

ive also looked around for other types of "expandable" sound insulation - but havent really had much luck - im not sure if this concept will hold yet.

im willing to sketch/scan/upload basic facade sections if anyone's interested in seeing them.

thanks for any input - its been doing my head in

john eden

male pale and stale
Not something I know about but might be worth checking speakerplans.org - home of many a soundsystem nerd.

hint

party record with a siren
I'm no expert, but I've always understood that you need mass to cut low frequencies such as traffic rumble. There's not much mass in air.

There is a Studio Construction / Acoustics forum over at Gearslutz: