booty bass / crunk mixes

Shonx

Shallow House
Could do worse than try www.discobelle.net - just stick booty bass or whatever the hell you like in there. Pretty sure there were a few good ones in there. Really quite fancy hearing some ghettotech/juke/booty/b-more/whutever mixes myself

I'll go through my mix collection and see if I can find some links for ya's

ripley

not to nitpick, but is booty bass even a real genre? cant people just call it miami bass?

I think of them as different but related. Miami being a subsection of booty. But I'm no expert - where does ghettotek/accelerated funk fit into this?

bassnation

the abyss
Booty is more of a Detroit thing I think with DJ Godfather, DJ Funk Ass and Titties and all that.

yeah, miami bass is a lot slower and older - its from the early nineties, no? stylistically they aren't that similar apart from the profane aspect, and the subbass maybe. look at dj funk and tell me how similar he is to 2 live crew and you'll see what i mean.

viktorvaughn

If you click on Prancehall's Guardian blog it includes stuff written by MP John MCDonnell (Prancehall's name). Made me smile.

mms

sometimes
miami bass was mid to late 80's and a regional take on the electro sound, la had an electro bass sound as well, as did new york, but the sound of miami was more or less the sound of miami hip hop if you get me.
the detroit bass or electro bass was more 90's and isn't as mc led at all it's club music, course that came more or less from a mixture of the ghetto house trax from chicago etc, ie the music getting faster and dirtier and detroit techno and electro plus big handfulls of classic detroit funk and electro funk sped up.
crunk is an atlanta thing no, much later than either and probably more or less a mixture of chopped and screwed. southern shit and tempos and also samples in hip hop not really being the fashion anymore.
so if you like detroit, miami have their roots in electro