PDA

View Full Version : Recording guitar to computer/general guitar techie questions



baboon2004
13-03-2009, 02:20 PM
What's the best reasonably-priced (ie under 100) equipment to use to record a guitar to a PC? Have seen this (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Pinnacle-m-Audio-Fast-Track-Mac/dp/B000GFVPBW), but the complaints about the latency period and the lack of volume gain make me suspicious...

Can anyone recommend anything better?

And what's a good brand of cable to use?

Also, unrelated (I am not very good at this guitar tech stuff), how the hell do I know whether a pick-up is any good, without trying it? ie are there any failsafes?

baboon2004
13-03-2009, 05:26 PM
Bumping, as I stupidly sent an answer to the synth thread straight after I posted this...

vimothy
13-03-2009, 05:29 PM
Have you got a sound card with a mic preamp on it?

baboon2004
13-03-2009, 06:05 PM
Um, just got a standard computer soundcard as far as I know....not sure what that entails, tbh

CHAOTROPIC
13-03-2009, 06:11 PM
Maybe this (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Line-6-pocket-pod_W0QQitemZ170310181827QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Gui tar_Accessories?hash=item170310181827&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1688%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C 240%3A1318)? The full-size Line 6 POD is supposed to be the standard, really, & you can probably grab one for under 100 on ebay. Robust too.

mistersloane
13-03-2009, 09:24 PM
Maybe this (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Line-6-pocket-pod_W0QQitemZ170310181827QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Gui tar_Accessories?hash=item170310181827&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1688%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C 240%3A1318)? The full-size Line 6 POD is supposed to be the standard, really, & you can probably grab one for under 100 on ebay. Robust too.

"Pocket POD is a class compliant USB MIDI device. You will not be able to directly record over a USB connection."

which kinda means that the POD would boost the signal but wouldn't help with the interface that baboon is looking for in order to plug their guitar into their computer I think, though anyone correct me if I'm wrong!

I'll have a look around for you baboon and see if there's anything I can find.

baboon2004
15-03-2009, 10:24 AM
Much obliged, sir!

CHAOTROPIC
15-03-2009, 02:14 PM
Ah, soz, I figured you already had an audio interface but wanted a good guitar sound.

Personally, I plug any instruments into a cheap mixer (Behringer Eurorack) & then straight into a USB audio interface (Tascam US-122), record straight into logic & then mess with it there. I'm sure you can pick up a cheap mixer & audio interface from eBay for under 100.

mistersloane
15-03-2009, 02:48 PM
Ah, soz, I figured you already had an audio interface but wanted a good guitar sound.

Personally, I plug any instruments into a cheap mixer (Behringer Eurorack) & then straight into a USB audio interface (Tascam US-122), record straight into logic & then mess with it there. I'm sure you can pick up a cheap mixer & audio interface from eBay for under 100.

What's the latency like with the Tascam?

baboon2004
19-03-2009, 12:28 PM
http://www.harmony-central.com/Effects/Data/Tascam/US_122-01.html

Not altogether positive, must be said....

poetix
19-03-2009, 12:31 PM
PodStudio GX (http://line6.com/podstudiogx/). Cheap as chips, very low latency, comes with decent amp modelling software.

baboon2004
19-03-2009, 12:44 PM
PodStudio GX (http://line6.com/podstudiogx/). Cheap as chips, very low latency, comes with decent amp modelling software.

Nice - thank you! That looks like just the ticket, and it comes with Ableton Live Lite while I save up to get the regular version. Will order it now! :)

CHAOTROPIC
19-03-2009, 12:57 PM
http://www.harmony-central.com/Effects/Data/Tascam/US_122-01.html

Not altogether positive, must be said....

Haha! First review on that page: "Preamps are not fantastic but ok for me. No noise problems since i don't use cheap mixers like behringer."

Tascam ... Behringer ... man, my setup is really excellent ;)

CHAOTROPIC
19-03-2009, 01:00 PM
What's the latency like with the Tascam?

You know what? I have no idea. I just play stuff in using direct monitoring & it works fine. Never had any latency problems whatsoever, but then I don't use a click track & never use any sequencing, aside from a loop pedal, sometimes.

baboon2004
29-04-2009, 02:32 PM
PodStudio GX (http://line6.com/podstudiogx/). Cheap as chips, very low latency, comes with decent amp modelling software.

OK, I'm a technical dunce. Bought this (and it looks great, thanks for the tip-off), and my guitar is feeding signal into the computer (the levels are moving on the PodFarm programme), but nothing can be heard from my regular computer speakers...

nomos
29-04-2009, 02:42 PM
no idea, but you might need to turn monitoring on, either on your device or in the software (or both). also make sure that you have your audio prefs in ableton set to take input from an external device.

hint
29-04-2009, 03:10 PM
OK, I'm a technical dunce. Bought this (and it looks great, thanks for the tip-off), and my guitar is feeding signal into the computer (the levels are moving on the PodFarm programme), but nothing can be heard from my regular computer speakers...

Are you running it in standalone, or hosting it in a DAW like Ableton Live / Cubase / Logic?

If in standalone, it should be a simple matter of going into the Podfarm preferences and telling it which output / driver to use.

baboon2004
11-05-2009, 11:57 AM
Thanks for the replies, sorry to be late in getting back to you.

The problem is a peculiar one - as the Line 6 gadget acts as an external soundcard, the speakers need to be plugged into this, and not into the hard drive soundcard.

So now I record into Ableton while plugging my speakers into the PodStudio, and plug the speakers into my internal soundcard to play it back. It's fine (love the PodFarm programme), but have yet to get a Y-cable to connect the speakers to both cards simultaneously (one needs to be connected to the auxiliary in, or something?).

massrock
11-05-2009, 12:08 PM
Are you on a Mac or a PC Baboon?

You should certainly be able to leave the PodStudio connected for all purposes. Most likely you need to change a setting in your operating system telling it what audio device to use by default. You shouldn't need to use the internal sound card.

baboon2004
11-05-2009, 01:57 PM
On a PC.

But if I have the PodStudio connected, then I can't hear anythign when I play back what I've recorded in Ableton, cos there's no line out coming from the computer soundcard. But you're saying that I can play back from Ableton using the PodStudio as soundcard, if I understand? Will check those settings...

massrock
11-05-2009, 02:05 PM
Yeah - you might want to check the audio preferences in Ableton as well. If it's set to use the ASIO audio drivers as it probably should be you would be hearing the playback out of the PodStudio I reckon, so that might not be right as well.

Best of luck!

baboon2004
11-05-2009, 02:43 PM
cheers dude :)