Recording guitar to computer/general guitar techie questions

baboon2004

Darned cockwombles.
What's the best reasonably-priced (ie under £100) equipment to use to record a guitar to a PC? Have seen this, but the complaints about the latency period and the lack of volume gain make me suspicious...

Can anyone recommend anything better?

And what's a good brand of cable to use?

Also, unrelated (I am not very good at this guitar tech stuff), how the hell do I know whether a pick-up is any good, without trying it? ie are there any failsafes?

CHAOTROPIC

on account
Maybe this? The full-size Line 6 POD is supposed to be the standard, really, & you can probably grab one for under £100 on ebay. Robust too.

mistersloane

heavy heavy monster sound
Maybe this? The full-size Line 6 POD is supposed to be the standard, really, & you can probably grab one for under £100 on ebay. Robust too.

"Pocket POD is a class compliant USB MIDI device. You will not be able to directly record over a USB connection."

which kinda means that the POD would boost the signal but wouldn't help with the interface that baboon is looking for in order to plug their guitar into their computer I think, though anyone correct me if I'm wrong!

I'll have a look around for you baboon and see if there's anything I can find.

CHAOTROPIC

on account
Ah, soz, I figured you already had an audio interface but wanted a good guitar sound.

Personally, I plug any instruments into a cheap mixer (Behringer Eurorack) & then straight into a USB audio interface (Tascam US-122), record straight into logic & then mess with it there. I'm sure you can pick up a cheap mixer & audio interface from eBay for under £100.

mistersloane

heavy heavy monster sound
Ah, soz, I figured you already had an audio interface but wanted a good guitar sound.