cocktails

Slothrop

Tight but Polite
I started learning to make cocktails, got as far as doing a respectable dry martini, and then kind of lost the impetus to learn any more because they probably aren't going to be as good as a dry martini.

I ought to figure a couple more - maybe bloody marys and a whisky sours or something.

Mr. Tea

Let's Talk About Ceps
My brother is mad on this shit. He gave me a cocktail set for Christmas the year before last and later gave me a book of recipes for my birthday. It's not that I'm ungrateful and I do intend to have a go at some point, but you've got to layout a fortune to buy even a fairly basic set of spirits and mixers. I'm generally just happy with beer or wine. Good scotch is as far as I usually go with spirits. I should just buy some booze and give it a shot. Bloody Marys are brilliant, for a start, but you don't need fancy kit to make them.

Old Fashioneds are great, I should try some of those.

viktorvaughn

i've been recently getting into them a bit, i mean i love beer, ale would be my desert island drink but sometimes you do want something a bit different.

bloody marys are absolutely brilliant when done properly and don't need a big investment

Manhattans are nice and not too complex - 5 parts whiskey or cognac, 2 parts red vermouth, a dash of bitters, ice and a dash of sugar syrup (optional).

margaritas are of course amazing and not too hard to make, tho triple sec is quite dear.

this place Bourne and Hollingsworth cocktail bar is very nice if you can get a seat - bare rammed.http://www.qype.co.uk/place/198387-Bourne-Hollingsworth-London. Worth stealing a menu as they have loads of interesting cocktails, some lovely ones and they tasty properly strong which is of course essential, there's no place for a weak cocktail.

Last edited:

luka