Why is it called GRIME and not UK RAP?

Troy

31 Seconds
I've been listening to hip-hop since 1985. I've been listening to Grime lately, and am confused by those people who tell me that Grime is not rap/hip-hop, but something totally unique and original.

I understand that the sonics and influences and beats are different, but to me it's the same head-noddin groove... just different sonics. Well, not that different if you have ever heard underground hip-hop.

Now 2-step totally twisted my world, like nothing I had ever heard before. So did 2-step "evolve" into grime? or did it just dissipate into rap?

Please educate me.

Logan Sama

BestThereIsAtWhatIDo
The beats don't sound like hip hop. The format in which it is performed on a live set is not the same as rap.

Would you call Vybz Kartel and Busy Signal JA Hip Hop by the same reasoning, out of interest?

gumdrops

it might not be hip hop but it is rap. even skepta said its a different type of uk rap, just faster.

nochexxx

harco pronting
Logan Sama said:
The format in which it is performed on a live set is not the same as rap.

i'm intersted to know what goes into a grime show. is it mainly dj's using pc's live or is it cdr playback? i've only been to two grime shows, one was dizzee and the other being roll deep. i think dizzee's dj was using dubplates. no idea what roll deep were using.

viktorvaughn

Grime is a direct decendent of UKG. Yes it has rappers as do (broadly speaking) UKG and DNB, but i dont think it is UKHH. UKHH was basically inspired from the American scene (though obviously this was a few years ago). Grimes lineage in emminently traceable - listen to stuff like heartless crew and Pay As You Go and you can see where the UKG/grime lines blur heavyly. It simply hasn't grown out of hiphop in the UK and what we do call hiphop here is pretty easily discernable from grime when listening. However, they do share lots of sonic qualities yes.