Tech-tard pt 2 - What home studio set-ups do you guys use?

baboon2004

Darned cockwombles.
I am just starting to learn how to use sequencers (have Fruity Loops at the moment, and it seems to work well as a programme to learn with), and I want to purchase the bare minimum of extra kit I'll need. Off the bat, was thinking of a midi controller keyboard and a mic for sampling - is there anything else I'm likely to need? Am leaning towards hip-hop sounds, if that helps.

Thx in advance

borderpolice

is there anything else I'm likely to need? Am leaning towards hip-hop sounds, if that helps

Perfectly respectable set-up. I use pretty much the same, just logic/ableton not FL. after a while you'll need monitors for mixing and mastering, but they are not required at this stage. if you have a good track that you want to publish, you can rent a studio for a few hours and get the sound perfected, should be very cheap -- i paid about £25 to do the mastering of my first tune.

Quick hint: make as many tunes a possible. and finish them!. let me say this again: Finish your tunes! ;)

Last edited:

baboon2004

Darned cockwombles.
Perfectly respectable set-up. I use pretty much the same, just logic/ableton not FL. after a while you'll need monitors for mixing and mastering, but they are not required at this stage. if you have a good track that you want to publish, you can rent a studio for a few hours and get the sound perfected, should be very cheap -- i paid about £25 to do the mastering of my first tune.

Quick hint: make as many tunes a possible. and finish them!. let me say this again: Finish your tunes! ;)

Thanks for the reply - helps to have confirmation that I'm not missing anything. :)

Quick hat-trick of qs: (1) What MIDI controller wd you recommend?
(2) How did you know what to do on getting to the studio for the first time?!
(3) My friend says the same thing about finding it difficult to finish....I'm presuming it's the mixing that bogs people down...?

borderpolice