Mathematics

josef k.

Dangerous Mystagogue
I recently became obsessed with mathematics. I lie awake at night, thinking of patterns. I have discovered the following things.

1) Points. Points are pure positions.

2) Lines. Lines trace relationships between points.

3) Angles. Angles describe relationships between lines.

That is as far as I've got. I am currently trying to figure out volume. I may be going insane.

vimothy

yurp
Me too. Actually, I'm studying maths at the Open University. It's near the end of semester 1. Haven't got as far as volume yet.

It's not the maths that's driving me insane, though, it's the Quantitative Research Methods module I'm also taking. I lie awake at night and think about questionnaire design. How demented is that?

Mr. Tea

Let's Talk About Ceps
That's where Russell and Whitehead went wrong - the fundamental basis of mathematics is not irreducible axioms but questionnaire design.

Josef, if you have three vectors A, B, C delineating a parallelopiped (a cuboid which is allowed to be 'wonky'; the most general volumetric shape three vectors can define) then the volume is given by the magnitude of A . (B x C), where '.' is the scalar (or 'dot') product and 'x' is the vector (or 'cross') product. This seems like a reasonable place to start if you want to think about volume once you've got some idea of vectors and angles, maybe.

Edit: there's a fairly decent diagram on the Wiki page I linked to...

Last edited:

don_quixote

Trent End
massive massive book recommendation:

mathematics and the imagination by edward kasner. it's from the 30s but it's spectacular.

oooh here we go:
http://books.google.co.uk/books?hl=...CzxpyU&sa=X&oi=book_result&resnum=5&ct=result

since we're here... in that book it says something about terminating decimals, claiming everything we've been told in school maths is wrong - they don't terminate?