u gotta keep ur eye on dnb..

DJL

i'm joking
Woah, that is actually good! Drum n Bass finally getting its act together maybe?
One good tune in I don't know how many years though is not enought yet.
BTW - who is that by and what's it called???

toasted

DJL said:
Woah, that is actually good! Drum n Bass finally getting its act together maybe?
One good tune in I don't know how many years though is not enought yet.
BTW - who is that by and what's it called???

heh.. bet you couldnt name 10 dnb tracks from the last 5 years.. how do you know the thousands that have come out are all shit? cos simon reynolds said so?

music nerds eh.. it must feel great to know *everything*

DJL

i'm joking
Correct, I couldn't name 10 dnb records from the past five years but I have been attending regular DnB events for the last twelve years where the latest stuff gets played and I've not heard anything that makes me go "wow!" since before 2000. Until now...

If Simon Reynolds thinks the same then this is coincidence. That you drew our attention to this tune from amongst the thousands of DnB releases nowadays betrays your music nerd leanings also! ;)

On a side note I love the name of this tune :D

Last edited:

jack

WOEBOT said:
the beats on practically every jungle tune ive heard recently are that kind of sloppy shrug. large directionless drums without any central punch, kind of like a crap heavy metal band's drumming (where the punch is at least delivered by the guitars)

you should hear the nightbreed/pendulum metal-dnb hybrid trend stuff of the past year or so. such toss.

Digital did some really great rootsy-dub stuff on V last year though.

Grievous Angel

Beast of Burden
I enjoy Pendulum stuff for two minutes at a time.

D'n'B jungle is a funny one. I listened to a load of Digital tunes on that chemical records site and a lot of them were OK by d'n'b standards but really not that special -- a few great exceptions though.