the baggy continuum

zhao

there are no accidents
been up all night, it's 6AM and just had a brain um... hiccup:

the XXXL tall tees rappers wear that go down to they knees are a contemporary stylistic manifestation of traditional African dress -- which is, I'm no expert but from everything i've seen, always baggy. (has this been talked about before?)

dashiki.jpg
197358-64580.jpg
image006.jpg
a2ub.jpg

claat-m-tallt-white.jpg
1495_0.jpg
2404_0.jpg
4148_0.jpg
708881505_l.jpg

I AM PREPARED TO DEAL WITH THE REALIZATION THAT THIS IS A STUPID POST IN THE MORNING UM... AFTERNOON

nomadthethird

more issues than Time mag
people wear baggy clothes so they can hide guns and drugs under their clothes.

period.

or maybe to be a little less offensively blunt: people originally started wearing super baggy clothes to hide guns and drugs under them. then it just stuck. now people wear them for practical reasons (drugs, guns) and/or just because it's fashionable in certain neighborhoods/subcultures. the trend definitely took hold on a national (rather than neighborhood-specific) scale only after the ascent of gansta rappers. gangsta rappers proudly hide guns and drugs under their clothes. it just makes sense.

even now i know of a lot of people who wear skinny jeans because they're cool but have to wear something big big on top, usually a hoodie or something with inside pockets.

but, you're not the first one to come up with a more convoluted origin for this, i've heard all kinds of random ideas about why the baggy fashions, included but not limited to:

1) it's a prison thing (sounds slightly plausible)
2) black people are poor, so they had to wear hand-me-downs, so they try to make it look deliberate (sounds like a slightly naive if sometimes inadvertantly true explanation)

but those both seem like stretches.

Last edited:

zhao

there are no accidents