The Prose Stylist

version

Who's up there? What makes someone a stylist rather than simply having good or great prose? And don't say "a style,".

version

It can feel like an admission good prose is all they have. That they can't do the other things. When I think of someone being referred to as a stylist, I think of someone like DeLillo where many will say his plots go nowhere and his characters all sound the same, but his sentences are impeccable.

I don't think I've seen Beckett referred to as a stylist even though he has a voice and an ear and an eye and sometimes a gimmick.

Corpsey

bandz ahoy
I bought this book after reading the Oxen episode of Ulysses. Joyce used another guide to prose history which I couldn't find.

Corpsey

bandz ahoy
I've only read bits of it but as far as I remember he nominated Jonathan Swift as having the best English prose style evs

version

Amis was considered a stylist, wasn't he? I've heard Didion and Easton Ellis, who idolised her, referred to as stylists too.

version

Is there a difference between being a stylist and having a voice? Burroughs has a voice, but referring to him as a stylist doesn't feel right.

Corpsey

bandz ahoy
I dunno it's probably something you could define in different ways

I suppose with the acclaimed 'stylists' you can usually tell it's them within a few sentences.

They don't write conventional sentences, or if they do they don't structure them conventionally.

Perhaps 'stylist' suggests a self-consciousness about style that you'd find in the modernist/postmodernist writers.

Like Dickens I don't think is seen as a 'stylist' but he writes in this unmistakable way – but maybe that's less about the rhythm of the prose than the metaphors he uses, the way he sees the world.

version

It's a difficult one to pin down, isn't it? Ellroy's another who comes to mind once you get to his rat-a-tat stuff like White Jazz.

version